Odds Favor Cowboys 2017 NFL Rushing Leader

One sports book says the odds favor the Dallas Cowboys having the NFL's rushing leader once again in 2017. Ezekiel Elliott was the 2016 champion with 1,631 yards.


Recently, CBS Sports' Will Brinson published an article praising Dallas Cowboys offensive lineman Zack Martin.

Brinson went so far as to argue Martin -- not Tom Brady, Matt Ryan, or even Ezekiel Elliott -- should be named NFL MVP.

Martin was drafted in 2014 out of Notre Dame. Since then, the o-line has made Dallas the most formidable force in the NFL on the ground.

That's not hyperbole, either.

Two of the last three seasons, Dallas has had the NFL's rushing leader. In 2014, DeMarco Murray held the honor, rushing for 1,845 yards. He had almost 500 yards more than the next closest back, Pittsburgh's Le'Veon Bell.

In 2015, the Vikings' Adrian Peterson wrestled the rushing title away from Dallas, going off for 1,485 yards. Still, that year the Cowboys' Darren McFadden had a career season and went for 1,089 yards, fourth in the league.

This season, it was another impressive effort from the Cowboys' front line. Rookie Ezekiel Elliott scampered for 1,631 yards, 300 more than fellow rookie Jordan Howard of the Bears (1,313). And he did it in just 15 games. He was a Rookie of the Year finalist.

The Cowboys are now favored to have the NFL rushing leader during the 2017 regular season. At BookMaker.eu, Dallas is -170 to accomplish the feat, meaning you'd have to bet $170 just to win $100.

The Cowboys are a +130 underdog to lose the rushing title, meaning you'd bet $100 to win $130.

The last team to have back-to-back rushing leaders was the San Diego Chargers. LaDainian Tomlinson ran for 1,815 yards in 2006 and 1,474 yards in 2007 to pace the NFL.

The Cowboys last had the back-to-back rushing leader in 1993, when the legendary Emmitt Smith led the league for the third of three straight years. Smith had 1,563 yards in 1991, another 1,713 in 1992, and 1,486 in 1993, all league bests.

Smith also led the NFL in rushing in 1995.

The Cowboys have had the rushing leader six times. That's tied for the second most all-time. Another rushing title in 2017 would vault Big D into sole possession of second place.

From BookMaker.eu: Will the Dallas Cowboys have the rushing leader for the 2017 NFL regular season?

  • YES -170
  • NO +130